1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites


Switzerland, a wealthy Alpine state in Central Europe, was founded in 1291 and has four official languages. Its system of government is based on direct democracy and a tradition of political and military neutrality.

Skip next section Reports & Analysis