1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites
The European Court of Human Rights building in Strasbourg
Image: Winfried Rothermel/picture alliance

European Court of Human Rights (ECHR)

The ECHR is the international court of the Council of Europe (not the EU). It has sitting judges from each of the 46 member states of the Council and enforces the European Convention on Human Rights.

Skip next section Reports & Analysis

Reports & Analysis

Show more