1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites
view of Vienna
Image: Volker Preußer/imago images


German-speaking country of roughly 8.5 million people; EU and eurozone member. Landlocked, bordered by Germany, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia, Slovenia, Italy, Switzerland, Liechtenstein. Its capital is Vienna.