1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites
National flags of ASEAN members on display
Image: Achmad Ibrahim/AP Photo/picture allianceImage: Achmad Ibrahim/AP Photo/picture alliance

Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN)

The organization, which comprises Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand, was founded in 1967 to improve cooperation in a region in which the US and China are competing for influence.

Skip next section Reports & Analysis

Reports & Analysis

Show more